Lorde wins Silver Scroll Song of the Year Award for her new music

goss 29/09/2017

Pop star Lorde has taken out the APRA Silver Scroll for Song of the Year, in a heated competition which for the first time, only had women as finalists.

Lorde's 'Green Light' beat out Kiwi music veteran Bic Runga ('Close Your Eyes'), Chelsea Jade ('Life of the Party'), Aldous Harding ('Horizon') and Nadia Reid ('Richard') to claim the award.

It was the first time there was an all-female line-up for the prestigious award, which last year went to Thomas Oliver for his song 'If I Move To Mars'.

The presentation of the award was preceded by a cover of the song by post-punk/electronica artist Ron Gallipoli.

Lorde didn't attend the award ceremony in Dunedin on Thursday night but instead sent an acceptance speech through video.

"I can't believe it. I really wanted to win a Silver Scroll, I feel like it's just so prestigious and important," she said.

The Silver Scroll honours excellence in songwriting and Anthony Healey, head of New Zealand operations of APRA AMCOS, said it was a "well-deserved accolade".

"As a song, 'Green Light' instantly hit its mark. Ella has captured that moment in her life and shared it beautifully with us all," he said.

The award is the second time Lorde has won a Silver Scroll, after her debut in 2013 for 'Royals', which was also co-written by Joel Little.

  • APRA Silver Scroll Award: Ella Yelich O'Connor, Jack Antonoff, Joel Little (Lorde) 'Green Light'
  • APRA Maioha Award: Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, Ethan Trembath (Alien Weaponry) 'Raupatu'
  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award: Salina Fisher - 'Torino'
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award: Claire Cowan - 'Hillary'
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award: Tim Prebble - 'One Thousand Ropes'
  • NZ Music Hall of Fame: The Clean - Hamish Kilgour, David Kilgour, Robert Scott, and Peter Gutteridge